Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, shool is the place to learn this

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It raises the question whether parent should teach children to become good citizens is a hotly debated issue. There are those who argue that the role of parents is being considered as the most important factor of educating children. Some other people are against for this viewpoint. In this essay, these two viewpoints will be discussed and my view will be presented.

First of all, with regard to those who believe that parents ought to teach children to be good citizens for society. Children were born and grown up in families, so parents have a strong influence on formation of children’s character. What is more, via meal time of the family, parents usually have face to face conversations and share valuable experience in life with their children. Obviously, this is being considered as a crucial effect on educating children.

As for those who believe that shools are much more overweight than parents over teaching children. It is argued that parents are under harsh pressure of doing business to make money as much as possible. Therefore, they do not have much time to be near their children and children have to stay at school for the whole day. As a result, parents can not be perfect teachers to teach their children to be good citizens.

From my view, although parents are busy with their business, most of them spend a certain amount of time sharing experience in life with children. Furthermore, schools also play a key role in educating children with a large amount of knowledge in varieties of fields, for example, children study biology, psychology and literature. For these arguments, it is hard to think that parents are overweight schools in case of teaching children. In other words, neither parents nor schools are underestimated to educate children to be good members of society.

It seems to me both schools and parents are important to teach children. Both parents and schools have made a huge contribution to education of children. This may be the most reasonable argument.