Some People Think That Universities Should Provide Graduates with the Knowledge and Skills Needed in the Workplace. Others Think That the True Function of a University Should Be to Give Access to Knowledge for Its Own

Nowadays, the aim of universities from students’ education is an ongoing controversy. Whereas some people put forward the view that expert graduates will be required in workplace, others believe that students in universities should be led toward their own sake. This essay compares and contrasts the two typical opinions regarding this issue.

It is reasonable for some people to argue that universities should nurture graduates with the knowledge and skills which are required in their future workplace. The ultimate purpose of students attending in universities is to find a decent job after graduate. Vast majority of companies tend to employ knowledgeable candidates rather than ordinary persons, in addition to work’s skills, sometimes volunteers should offer language proficiency. As a result, universities have critical role in the horizons of future work. Besides, it might be a wise choice for graduates to spend their limited time on becoming specialists instead of generalists.

On the other hand, others claim that the proper function of a university should be to provide student opportunities to earn knowledge for their own sake, it is not important whether the offered course is beneficial to an employer or not. There are strong evidences in all over the world that show successful innovations choose their study interests. Proponents of aforementioned issue believe that cramming teaching methods stifle students’ imagination and creativity. Moreover, basic knowledge should be fulfilled by universities then they encourage graduates to improve their own sake. There is no doubt that in competitive world only innovative societies can survive.

To put it in a nutshell, I personally believe that, the second option is much more effective. Universities should not deprive students from pursuing their own interests. In my estimation, comprehensive developments in graduates will occur whenever universities provide a suitable setting to progress their own sake.