Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In recent decades, more people are interested in finding the best way to protect animals. It is argued that the zoos should be closed so as to ensure the animals a freer living environment. However, I agree that zoos are still useful, even though the flaws of zoos are obvious too some extent.

If we choose to close zoos, it is possible to help animals maintain their natural behavior. This initiative can provide animal right groups with opportunities to reintroduce these animals to their natural habitats. it is easy for these species to retain their hunting instinct and also their physical health. In contrast, these animals’ mobility is restricted, if locked up in cages, and this can cause damage to their fitness.

On the other hand, zoos play an important role in protecting animals from human-caused disturbances and keeping the ecological balance. urbanization and intensive farming have posed a threat to animals’ natural habitats. Keeping endangered species in zoos makes it easy for professional zookeepers to care for these animals. Some captive breeding programs can keep these species alive and help preserve biodiversity. It is also important for human to manage zoos.

In my opinion, zoos also form an important part of conservation efforts in another aspect. Keeping zoos’ running provides people with more opportunities to get in touch with animals. In this way, people can increase environmental awareness and thereby they are willing to invest the conservation activities.

To summarize, It is reasonable to regard zoos as effective tools to protect animals, though there are some problems emerged for us to solve when keep animals in zoos.