Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertising plays a gradually essential role in people’s daily lives, as it serves as the main medium to persuade citizens to buy commodities. Hence, some people take the idea that the popularity of some products reflects the power of advertising instead of the real needs of people. The essay will elaborate on this opinion and draw a conclusion in the end.

It should be acknowledged that advertising, to some extent, is inductive and allures people to purchase goods. Advertisements usually use witty words or vivid pictures to bright up their products. Therefore, some potential customers are easily bewitched by their fancy languages and do not give full consideration of the real natures of those products, which may result in buying inferior products or commodities that they do not need. Also, it should be noted that the manufactures sometimes would like to invite renowned stars to represent their commodities, in an attempt to convince people that the stars use the same products with ordinary people, so their goods are reliable. In fact, people have little knowledge of those products and they just follow their admired stars, giving rise to unnecessary purchase.

Despite the fact that advertising has a strong influence on people’s purchasing habits, it is worth mentioning that people have clear minds to pick what they want when they are hanging out in shops. If the products are too expensive and beyond people’s purchasing power, no matter how vivid the languages are on the advertisements, citizens won’t buy those goods on impulse. In terms of those trivial and common goods, people won’t pay much attention to them, since those commodities are affordable and people needn’t pay a heavy price to get them.

According to above analyses, it is clear that advertising dose remain an important status in persuading people to buy commodities, be customers want or not. However, it should be realized that people still have the ability to distinguish what they can buy and what they can not afford to purchase. Thus, to some extent, advertisements exert a profound impact on people’s shopping habits, especially to those commodities which are trivial and common in people’s daily lives.