Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, most of companies devote considerable amount of their budget to advertisement. People are convinced to buy goods even if they do not need them by a persuasive advertisement. It is agreed that advertising causes great sales of popular goods by using people’s interest in being eye catching and respectful as well as exaggerating the good’s ability.

To begin with, humans love that others pay attention to them, and also refer to them. It helps to think of a celebrity. Everybody pursuits him and try to act like them. Advertisement companies know this interest and use it to coax people buy goods in order to look like their idol; therefore, publicizing commodities and services causes greater sales of them than what is actually needed by the society.

Furthermore, exaggerating the ability of goods causes people feel that they can solve their main problems by using that goods. For example, in an advertisement about a toothpaste, it is shown that a person’s teeth shine after using that brand; hence, people who has white and healthy teeth tend to use this brand in order to get shining teeth. Consequently, advertising changes the needs of the society.

To sum up, companies can gain higher profit by the correct use of advertisement in order to increase their sales. A powerful advertisement causes people think that they can gain respect and other’s attention by using a special product, or think that they need to a special commodity by exaggerating the good’s abilities. I think companies will assign more budget to advertisement to increase their revenue.