When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do u agree or disagree?

it is true that salary is an important factor to consider when people are choosing a job. However, I do not think it is the most important factor.

Admittedly, people want to choose a job with higher salary. It is mainly because of two reasons. Firstly, people need to satisfy their basic needs. For example, they need money to buy food, pay the rent or buy clothes. Therefore, people tend to choose a job with higher salaries in order to have a better lifestyle. Secondly, a well-paid job is also a sign of success in career. The level of income often reflects how well you do in a job and people around you judge your successfulness on the ground of how much you earn. As a result, when a job-hunter select a job, money is definitely a great concern.

However, money is not the most essential element to consider. To start with, the relationship between co-workers is more important for some people. It is hard to imagine any job can be done in the workplace without effective cooperation with colleagues, as most of the jobs in corporations today are teamworks. The productivity of an employee will also be heavily affected if employees in the company always have conflicts with each other. Besides, chances of getting promotion are more important than the salaries of the job. Promotions enable an employee to assume more responsibilities and learn from them. With these useful experiences, an employee can get a job easily when they leave the company. That is to say the promotion provide long-term benefits to an employee whereas the salary itself only contribute to a employee’s current income.

In conclusion, the importance of relationship between co-workers and opportunity for promotion outweigh that of salary.