Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that people rely on wild animals less and less with the development of technology. However, it does not mean that we do not need to protect wild creatures any more.

Some people argue that it is not necessary to protect these wild creatures. One of the reasons why they hold this belief is that our dependence on these creatures has been decreased. In the past, people need to hunt the wild animals for food and clothes. In contrast, the technique of cultivation and the technology of producing artificial fibers enable human being to acquire food and materials to make clothes easily. They also argue that the resources required to preserve the animals can invest in medical systems, education and improvement of infrastructures.

However, animals mean more than food and clothes to human being. The existence of wild animals has a positive impact on maintaining biodiversity in the environment. This is crucial for our environment and the damages of biodiversity cannot be reversed. Apart from this, it is also inhumane for people to watch animals go extinct. Human cannot just think of the benefits that wild animals bring to us. Even when they are not benefits human, we need to protest them, as it is our responsibility to do so. In addition, human should assume responsibility to preserve the wild animals for what we have done before. The natural habitats have been damaged due to the urbanization and increase in numbers of farms. Therefore, it is fair for human to protect these creatures to make up for our conducts.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the opinion that preservation of wild creatures is wasting the resources.