Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Capital punishment is an extremely sensitive matter to many countries. It is certainly true that many people are against the death penalty especially the catholic society. In my point of view and based from my experience in our country, the death penalty has a great impact on peace and order of the state.

During the early years of the Philippine government, wherein the death penalty still part of the justice system, the crime rate is minimal. News about violence and heinous crimes are barely seen on Television or read in the newspapers. In fact, crimes like kidnap, rape, and murder are only famous in movie scene. Furthermore, drug or human trafficking are not prevalent. It seems that people are threatened by capital punishment. I even heard this story from my grandfather that one of our past presidents was seen roaming around in public places without any presidential securities. This clearly shows how safe and peaceful the Philippines at that time. Thus, I believe that the death penalty is an effective way to achieve peace and order in our country.

The reason behind that argument is based on my evaluation with the current justice system of our new government. Nowadays, most of the news headlines are pertaining to crime and violence. Abduction and murder have been happening even in their own vicinity. Cases about drug and human trafficking are rampant. Even the government officials are not confident about the security in our own country. It is apparent on the number of security guards that surround them, particularly when they are outside the government offices. This scenario is an evidence of how unsecured the Philippines environment at the present time. The increase of reports of infringement provides strong support about the negative impact of death penalty abolition.

In my opinion, capital punishment plays an important role in minimizing the crimes and imparts further assurance of security in the surroundings. Therefore, I strongly agree that it should be imposed by the Philippine government and should be considered by other nations.