Young people in the modern world seem to have more power and influence than any previous young generation.

Why is this the case?

What impact does this have on the relationship between old and young people?

Joseph E. Stiglitz mentioned in his book of “The Price of Inequality” that the youth is potential capital for economic growth and at the same time, is also potential threat for the governments; the key point is how to treat them. In today’s world it is very usual to see the young people that they hold high-ranked position, have sufficient influence and play crucial role during the decision making process. Going to the back of dusty pages of the history, today’s ordinary situation – youth in power was very unusual; thus, the main public figures, leaders and scholars were well-known and had influence power when they were in their middle of 45s or 50s.

After the rapid growth of globalization, the youth is very warmly welcomed by public, because, it is believed that they have great ideas and innovative concepts that could affect to the world positively which is also true. The youth of our era is very keen to learn life long, update themselves with the new changes of the world and are high-tech geniuses that make them different and competitive than their predecessors.

However, the youth in action is not well welcomed by old people for two reasons. Firstly, the young people take their job and positions away which makes the old disappointed and mad. Secondly, the old people hardly like and accept changes. The old people try to urge others and themselves that they are perfect and know everything which sounds absolutely no true. They might have life and practical experience, but these don’t make him competitive, unless, he learns and is eager to grasp new things.

Furthermore, when the young people work with the old, there are always some problems within this organization when two generations work together, because, youth wants to change and the old doesn't. Nonetheless, it is not a big problem and it could be solved by mutual discussions and understanding. In next future, hopefully, there will not be such a problem, because, youth-in-power will be accepted as ordinary occasion.