15. The key to solving environmental problem is simple: present generation are willing to accept a less comfortable life for the sake of the future generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been discussed for decades about how to tackle the environmental problem on our planet. Some people argued that human beings can simply live with lower standards to give the next generations a better future. I strongly disagree with this point of view. I do not think many people would like to have a lifestyle which worse than what they have had, and even though some of them want to make a change, the problem cannot be solved without actions from governments.

To begin with, many people are not willing to have a less comfortable life. People, especially residents from developing countries, are actually unsatisfied with their current living conditions. For instance, most of the young people in China still need to work extremely hard to buy a house, to have a car and to lead a better life. Those who are working for a living still need to consume more daily necessities like food and clothes. They are damaging the environment rather than saving the earth.

To consider another side, some of the people concern about the environment and want to sacrifice for their children or grandchildren. Normally, they think about others can care about global problems because they have had what they need. However, even though people like them would like to try, it’s not easy to change due to the limited influence. instead, only if all the governments in the world work together can the environmental problem be solved.

In conclusion, it is unrealistic to deal with the environmental problem by sacrificing a comfortable life. Millions of people would not do that, and it will not have a significant effect. I believe governments can do more in these problems.