15. The key to solving environmental problem is simple: present generation are willing to accept a less comfortable life for the sake of the future generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been discussed for decades about how to tackle with the environmental problem on our planet. Some people argued that human beings can simply live with lower standards to give the next generations a better future. However, I strongly disagree with this point of view. Many people would not like to have a lifestyle which worse than what they have been having, and even though some of them want to make a change, the problem cannot be solved without actions from governments.

To begin with, many people are unwilling to have a less comfortable life. People, especially residents in developing countries, are actually unsatisfied with their current living conditions. For instance, most of the young people in China still need to work extremely hard to buy a house, to have a car and to lead a life that they want. Those who are working for a living are going to consume more daily necessities like food and clothes. They are damaging the environment rather than saving the earth.

To consider another side, some of the people who are concerning about the environment want to sacrifice for their children and grandchildren. Normally, the main reason why they can think about others and can care about global problems is that they have had what they need and do not need to pursue more materials. However, even though there are people would like to try, it’s difficult to change due to the limited influence they will have. Instead, only if all the governments over the world work together, appeal for a change and set up laws, can the environmental problem be solved.

In conclusion, it is unrealistic to deal with the environmental problem by sacrificing comfortable life. Millions of people would not do that, and it will not have a significant effect. I believe governments can do more in this problem.