16. Many scientists believe that now we can study the behavior of a three-years-old child to see whether they will grow up to be criminals. To what extent do you think crime is determined by human nature? Is it possible to stop children from growing up to be criminals?

It has been discussed recently that scientists can predict if three-year-old children will conduct crimes in the future by observing and analysing their behaviours now. From my perspective, I don’t think the results are reliable and I believe that there are various steps adults and the government can take to prevent children from being criminals.

To begin with, I disagree that people are born with evil. For me, the family environment and the society where children grow up have more impact on their personal development rather than human nature. When children have been raised with parents who have alcohol or drug problems, they are highly possible to be abused or neglected. They may look different or even ‘weird’ to their peers because of the family background and have suffered from unfair treatment from society, which is the most well-known reason to be a criminal. The tragic personal experience of children has a bigger influence on whether they will become anti-social and do the wrong things when they are grown-ups.

Accordingly, I argue that the government can take actions to lower the future criminal rate. Organizations like Child Protection can give more assistance to children who are under risk. Social workers can be employed to interfere with family issues. Furthermore, education should be highly valued where teachers, with their professional knowledge, guide parents and children to lead a brighter life. Subjects like mental health should be included in the schooling system in order to help children to be more independent and resilient. All the movements will have a positive impact on young children’s life.

In conclusion, children are born like a blank paper, and their family and society play an important role in their development. There will be fewer criminals in the following decades if the government can do the right things to help the young generation now.