The advantages and disadvantages of the internet

Thanks to the development of technology, the Internet has played a vital part in modern lives. In my opinion, the Internet has both negative and positive effects.

First of all, the Internet brings people together. Everyone can keep in touch with family or friends immediately whenever they want. Moreover, making friends with foreigners will become easier than before partly because of the Internet. Second, the Internet is the fastest way to get the latest news. Wherever people are, they can get the breaking news right away. Indeed, it is convenient since people do not need to go out to buy newspapers or wait until the broadcast news is displayed on the TV. Besides, the Internet is a great source of knowledge for everyone. Students can access the Internet to self-study and widen their knowledge easily thanks to many useful specific academic sources.

However, it seems the Internet also has many drawbacks. First, it is surely a waste of time when using the Internet. People can be distracted from work or study, and it may affect their outcomes. Furthermore, everyone, especially students may be addicted to the Internet. Online games on the Internet become more and more popular among the young; therefore, students can become addicted to them. Adults also spend too much time using social networks and online newspapers, and they care less about their work. Also, people may have an increased risk of health problems and resulting in symptoms of anxiety or depression. Finally, although the Internet helps people get the latest news, fake news on uncensored websites on the Internet also leads to negative effects on society.

In conclusion, the Internet is greatly an advanced technology to human beings, yet people should limit time and consider using it appropriately.