The advantages and disavantages of cellphone

Thanks to the invention of cell phones, people can perform their tasks more effectively in a shorter period. However, they may be detrimental if they are overused. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the excessive use of smartphones.

On the one hand, there are several advantages that can be linked to the widespread use of mobile phones. Firstly, the emergence of smartphones enables people to get easier access to available social media applications such as Facebook, Instagram, and so on. People can send voice messages or make video calls from a vastly far distance. Besides, people can keep themselves updated about their beloved ones by seeing their new posts when hearing notification sounds from the phones. Another advantage is convenience in e-commerce. It brings businesses and customers together. There are some online shopping applications namely Shoppee, Tiki, Lazada which are popular among people. Business owners can upload and put their products up for sale on these platforms. Clients can order goods in the comfort of their homes and get them delivered to their places.

On the other hand, extra use of cell phones can be harmful to some extent. First and foremost is the exploitation of data. People tend to store their personal information on their phones, yet it can result in serious effects if their phones are hacked. For example, if the user installs applications supported by a bank, the hacker may steal the passwords of the user’s account and take away all the money. Secondly, overusing mobile phones may lead to a decline in physical interaction. Nowadays, it is a common phenomenon that in gatherings, people often look at the screens for the most part instead of talking to each other. Even in family reunions, the family members surf the Internet rather than interact with one another. Once I hung out with my friends in a coffee shop, I was quite surprised when seeing a family of four people playing with their phones without caring about other people in their family. This might erode the relationships of people within the family.

In sum, mobile phones offer us an abundance of perks. Cell phones themselves can be helpful and convenient to some people but can be an addiction to other people. Therefore, people should make judicious use of smartphones.