Advertising encourages customers to buy in quantity not in quality. To what extent you agree or disagree.

Advertising has been highlighted as an emerging issue, capturing significant public attention due to its implications on consumers’ behaviours. Given the suggestion that advertisements are destined for sale boost instead of quality promotion. I partially agree.

On the one hand, It is true that advertising promotes sales. First, products promoted are usually associated with the false portrayals and the exaggeration of the genuine quality. This would act as an incentive for customers’ desire for purchasing such items, thereby increasing profits for manufacturers. Second, since in many nations, especially developing ones, high-end items suggest a correlation with better socio-economic status, many companies have featured this notion into their advertisements for marketing purposes. For example, if apparel brands offer a new line of exorbitant garments with the sale-targeting advertisements that these are exclusive to the elite class, many individuals even those with low purchasing powers would purchase such items to falsely show off their social position without any attention to the functionality or quality.

On the other hand, it must be acknowledged that advertising reflect products’ quality. In order to address the implications of many falsely displayed products, which would otherwise culminate in irreversible impacts on human health, many official authorities have enacted regulations, providing guideline for the advertising the true quality of products related to pharmaceuticals, cigarettes, supplements… Without these governmental enforcement, customers would be misled, making substance abuse and excessive consumption inevitable products.

In conclusion, I belive that advertising mainly aims at sale increase but sometimes it also reflect the quality of items. However, for the betterment of consumption behaviours, enterprises should promote the quality of advertising content.