Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Age discrimination is a huge problem in the workforce where people are unfairly treated regarding their age. This seriously hampers the employee's productivity and eventually organization effectiveness. I strongly accord to the statement that age discrimination should be made illegal and punished heavily who breaches the law.

At the outset, the organization runs flawlessly only if it has a highly respected culture of team-work. To do so, all the employees need to be treated fairly and equally without being a bias considering their age, ethnicity and race. Moreover, if there is a discrimination regarding the age, communication among employees would be broken down and results in the nonfunctional team. Therefore, promotions, recruitment and remunerations must not be based on the age but rather based upon skills and experiences.

Everyone argues that age discrimination must be made illegal in order to prosecute the offenders. This is primarily because the older people are still able to work tirelessly as younger people can and therefore these people can not be treated unfairly. In addition, they are vulnerable to physical, financial and emotional abuse and hence must be protected from perpetrators. They often can not raise the voice to get the equal incentives and perks as other colleagues get from the same employer. Their voices often get unnoticed or unheard. This means these people are at high risk of mental health problems including depression and anxiety. Therefore, the government should immediately address the issue and bring the law to protect these people from being outcasted.

To put into an end, older people are as effective as young people given the fair job positions and roles and therefore should not underestimate their abilities and skills. The government must bring the law to address the age discrimination at the workplace and declare this an illegal act and encourage people to come forward and report of such issue in a workplace to investigate and punish the breacher.