Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations.

Some people say that the government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily.

Do you agree or disagree?

The low rate of air tickets have increased the influx of travellers to holiday destinations, thereby resulting in environmental pollution and danger to the ecosystem. Due to these adverse effects, a number of people have suggested that the government should make travelling by air less attractive through heavy taxation. While the effect of this appear dangerous, I think it is unnecessary to place heavy tax on it because it would not take the queue off the airports and it will have adverse effect on the operation of airlines.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why the government should jettison the idea of heavily taxing commuters, more prominent is the fact that it would not take off the long queues of the airport. The quest to always relax and move away from the daily routine of business makes people seek leisure in some new locations no matter what it would cost, moreover holidays are always memorable and worth any cost. For example, my neighbours are always interested in visiting holiday resorts in Miami, Dubai and other pleasurable destinations even if they have to pay double of the amount. Furthermore, business activity always put people on the move, and the demands of work are not one to wave easily as a result of this, the airports are always overcrowded. This is one of the reasons why the Murtala Mohammed International is considered the busiest in Africa.

On the other hand, while the incessant congestion and busy airways are dangerous to the environment, over taxing would create difficulty in airline operations because they will be in a competition to woo more clients and this will lead to animosity and unhealthy relationships between them. To illustrate this, the courts have received numerous applications of trade disputes between various airlines in the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport due to price fluctuations and meeting the unions demand. Hence, I am of the opinion that it is not advisable to place uneasy burden of taxes on air operations.

Conclusively, there is increasing danger posed to health and wellbeing due to over population in use of flights and high quest for vacation travels, thus prompting the recommendation for high tax regime. I disagree with this view due to the aforementioned reasons canvassed.