Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is?What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Art has been playing an integral part in people’s lives around the world. But people are now increasingly turning their attention towards practical subjects such as science, technology and business. This could be attributed to a range of reasons and a number of measures could be taken to promote people’s affection in arts.

One main reason why people are enticed to technical and business sectors is that it is easier for a person to find a job with higher salaries and clearer prospects in these sectors compared to arts. Since the world are now in the midst of a revolution in technologies and international commerce, there is a immense demand for employees working in these areas. Therefore those who are operating in such industries are more likely to have a stable job that provides enough money for them and their families to live a happy life. In contrast, arts entail some inherent risks in terms of career progression and stability. On top of that, some certain forms of art such as painting or acting require special skills and talents that only suits a small number of people. Consequently, many people would choose STEM and business subjects rather than arts.

To foster an interest in arts in people, governments could invest in campaigns to raise public awareness of arts. For example, sponsored art exhibitions are a good way to cultivate a passion for arts in people and thus create a favorable environment for arts to grow. Another measure is for the authorities to grant subsidies for artists so that financial difficulties are no longer a burden for those who choose to work in art sector. Finally, music or painting should be made compulsory subjects at school to encourage people to pursue art when they are young.

In conclusion, while science, technology and business are gaining public’s concerns, governments should undertake some aforementioned steps to stimulate people’s preference to arts.