Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sports personality - brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Fame and what comes with it has been a controversial topic for years across borders. Despite the belief of numerous advantages, there are also people thinking that this can be destructive to celebrities themselves.

Obvious benefits can be observed. The first is the high level of self-satisfaction one may have resulted from the awareness that they’re remembered, loved, and welcome wherever they go. Secondly, there are a great many opportunities for these humans to make extra income. Much more generous salaries in their main profession are one. Another impressive source could be from participating in TV shows and advertising contracts. Furthermore, well-known people such as A-level actors or tennis champions might be offered chances to meet and stay connected with elite-class figures of society who are typically out of reach for commoners. In brief, a celebrity’s life can be heightened significantly in several aspects.

However, the harm is thought to be vast. The initial good feelings may occur but they’re unlikely to last long due to every human’s nature to adapt. Besides, the eye-opening effects on salary and finance-related benefits can be instant but these could be overwhelming and even counterproductive for certain groups. Historically, a large number of underaged Disney stars, for example, have had their childhood ruined because of acquiring too much money and fame at teenage age. Additionally, privacy is usually a problematic issue especially in personal relationships with friends and families because people want to know everything about them. On top of losing the freedom to live their own lives, reputable figures are seen to be extremely vulnerable to public sides either good or bad. Once things go wrong for some reason, its consequences on these people and those who are involved with them are devastating. In summary, the costs popular figures have to pay in exchange for their above-standard lives are proven profound.

In conclusion, while there might be plenty of bonuses of being famous, it also takes away a certain level of freedom as well as provides high exposure to dark sides of society. In other words, the problems of being a celebrity outperform the benefits of it.