The best way for Governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, providing free public transit all the time is considered as one of the most effective ways to reduce traffic congestion problem. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea.

On the one hand, operating public transportation network day by day is not necessary. The overcrowded road is merely happened at a specific time, depending on the time of working. At night or breaking dawn, the number of commuters moving on the road is lessened, and as a result, lots of available vehicles are not able to be used. For example, in some municipal cites of Vietnam, roads usually are clogged in the morning and evening, at the time when people go to work and come back home. However, not many Vietnamese people obligatorily go outside at night. Thus most public busses contain no passenger after 10 pm.

On the other hand, supporting public transport without any charge is genuinely not a useful measure for economic development. Residents may be required to pay more taxes for transportation services, which they even hardly use due to its convenience and time-consuming. Therefore, I believe that instead of investing in a state transport network, it is possible if the Government spent budget for other essential fields such as education, health care, or infrastructure construction.

To conclude, in my perspective, providing public vehicles with no cost day after day is inevitably unnecessary and is not a satisfactory solution to tackle the congestion issue.