The best way for Governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day and 7 days a week To what extent do you agree or disagree

Traffic congestion is an alarming issue in large cities and metropolitans. A school of thought argues that 24/7 public transport is the key to addressing this pressing concern. From my perspective, I partly agree with this idea because there are several measures that can be taken to improve the traffic situation nowadays.

It is understandable why many people contend the best way to combat traffic congestion is by providing free public transport. The most highlighted reason is the huge capacity of this type of vehicle. For example, a normal bus can take up to 40 passengers, which is nearly eightfold as much as a car. If commuting to work by personal vehicle can convert into the public one, the number of transport traveling on the road will significantly reduce. Additionally, free bus ticket also plays an important role in the using decision of citizens. Despite the convenience and usefulness of individual vehicles, people have to take a consideration regarding cost, including the insurance vehicle fee, regular repairing fee, and fuel costs, which account for a relatively large in their monthly expense. Therefore, using public transport is the best way to minimize people's budget, especially for the poor and low-salary employees.

Despite these arguments mentioned above, I strongly believe that besides public transport, governments can apply other solutions which bring relevant benefits. Firstly, the boost in the appearance of traffic lights and police agents in the main road lines and densely-populated regions has a positive influence on traffic congestion. Under the adjustment and heavy fine, typically confiscation, this kind of measure acts as a deterrent in the traffic participants' consciousness, which makes them strictly follow the traffic rule and contributes to decreasing traffic incidents in rush hours. Furthermore, applying a suitable working time schedule in each type of company to reallocate traffic flow might bring equivalent effects.

In conclusion, I would argue that governments can take numerous effective ways to solve traffic problems