The best way to reduce the number of traffic accidents is to raise the age limit for the younger drivers and to lower age limit for the aged ones. Do you agree?

It is sometimes argued that the age group of drivers should be limited to diminish the rate of traffic accidents. While I agree with this compulsory for participants transportation, I do not believe that this is the effective way to restrict the traffic congestion.

On the one hand, I absolutely think that the driving age should be raised. Firstly, many teenagers are too immature to drive alone because they often have a superiority complex and often increase speed to be faster than one another. For example, in my country, the rule for young drivers is not strict so there are speed competitions which lead to accidents. Consequently, the accident is always caused by these age groups. Secondly, because of health issues, lowing age limit for the old people is suitable. For instance, the aged ones often have Alzheimer; it can be jeopardized for them to drive vehicles such as forgetting the way to go home. Therefore, it is safer to reduce the age limit for the older ones.

However, the aforementioned reasons can be seen as the opposite angle. One reason is the age matter is not solely for traffic accidents, the awareness should be considered. Many people do not often have concentration and observation, all this happen to people of all ages, so age is not the cause of the crashes. Another reason is teenagers should be taught to drive vehicles to get around independently and have a job. For example, a lot of students help their families by running errands and helping to make ends meet. As a result, a better time for teens to start driving might not exist and rising that age would be disadvantageous for many people.

In conclusion, while there are many drawbacks to solve age matters for drivers, I do believe that this is a necessary rule.