The best way to resolve the international environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there are always various different opinions spinning around environmental issues every day. Some people believe that an increased cost of fuel is would address these global problems most effectively. However, I think in addition to the tax, people can approach the environment related concerns by other ways.

On the one hand, I completely agree that an increased fuel tax will measure problems of the environment. In fact, the vast majority of vehicles nowadays are using fuel to run the motor, which directly leads to releasing a huge amount of greenhouse emissions to the atmosphere and causes global warming. Hence, a reduction of consuming fuel would contribute to solving not only global warming but also other impacts such as rising sea level, the distinction of wild animals and health human. This forces people to diminish the number of private vehicles travelling on the road as well as to put an effort in manufacturing friendly-environmental means of transport in order to protect the environment.

Although this tax policy is justifiable, I am convinced that the government also focus on raising the public’s awareness to tackle environmental issues. Firstly, people should be educated that using fuel is just single reason amongst various important reasons that damage the environment. Human’s activities such as exploiting natural resources or releasing toxic waste into water resources are also severe issues that need addressing. Therefore, people should learn to balance their needs and conservation of the environment. They also educate the next generations to preserve the natural habitat.

In conclusion, the fuel tax is a practical policy to cope with the contemporary environmental issues. However, I believe there will be better measurements for the problems, but they need carrying out step by step, including the educating people.