The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It goes without saying that polluted ecosystems are one of the most crucial issues facing us today. Therefore, it is suggested that the best solution to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase fuel prices of cars and other means of transport. I partially agree with this view and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

First of all, it is worth considering the matters of environmental pollution caused by more and more people using vehicles related to gasoline and oil such as cars and motorbikes. It cannot be denied that the higher the price of petrol is, the less percentage of people using private vehicles is. Therefore it is possible to reduce the problem of air pollution and harmful fumes in big cities. However, this does not bring much benefit because of the fact that today many households can still afford to pay for their car and they still use it regularly. As a result, the conduct of rising fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the complex environmental issues, even affecting the national economy.

Besides, some individuals think that we should use renewable sources of energy instead of depending on fossil fuels. The governments should invest more in the installation of solar panels and wind turbines which do not pollute the environment and provide a huge source of energy for consumers. In addition, encourage the implementation of the global awareness campaign so that citizens are more aware of environmental protection, use cost-effective and greener means of transportation such as electric bicycles, electric scooters.

In conclusion, taking everything into consideration, I find that the advantages of using renewable energy sources outweigh the disadvantages of increasing the cost of fossil fuel for vehicles. Not until people are aware of this worst situation, will this problem be solved.