The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to
increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree
with this statement?
Excessive traffic and increasing pollution are affecting every major city in the globe. To
lessen such problems, some people say that governments should raise the price of
fuel such as petrol and diesel. It may help to some extent but I disagree that it is the
best solution to solve the problem of environment.
To begin with, the number of cars in a country directly depends on the proportion of
the population affluent enough to own cars. As a result, raises in gas price could
invoke hard feelings among this segment of people but would not drastically change
their behaviour in using cars. Even if the number of cars on road is reduced due to
higher gas cost, this is not the best way to solve traffic problems. Such policy would
hurt the auto industry, place higher costs on current and prospective car owners, and
be detrimental to the economy of a nation. In the long run, the final way out could be
the construction of better roads and more effective use of available transport
facilities.
Secondly, there is evidence that waste gas from cars is not the leading cause of air
pollution. The culprit may be the discharge of polluting substances into the
atmosphere due to the rapidly growing manufacturing industry. As a result, reduction
of the number of cars would not return us a blue sky and fresh air. We could better
handle this problem if we could increase control over industrial waste discharge and
adopt more environmental friendly materials and production equipment.
Finally, other measures like the application of cheaper and cleaner energy resources
could also be a better solution. For example, we now have the ability to make cell-
powered or even solar-powered cars. Such energy is completely clean and plentiful.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, it is not the best way to control traffic
and pollution by increasing the gas price because such action will hurt consumers and
economy without achieving what it is aimed for. Measures such as construction of
better transport facilities and development of new energy resources could be more
effective solutions.