The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to decrease the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniably true that the contamination of our environment at such an alarming rate is demanding humans to take practical measures. While I accept that a rise in fuels’ prices can alleviate environmental problems, I believe a range of other solutions can be used to address this complex issue.

On the one hand, an upward trend in the cost of traditional energies can allow people to deal with ecological degradation. From a societal perspective, gas emissions from factories as well as exhaust fumes from personal vehicles are two main factors aggravating environmental issues. If the prices of fossil fuels, which are the primary source of these toxic fumes, see a dramatic increase, industries will face the scarcity of fuels and materials by a virtue of the incapability to pay for the high cost. As a result, they have to seek for alternative energies such as wind, hydro and solar power which are eco-friendly and renewable. In the long run, the reduction in fossil fuels’ use due to high commercial value can contribute effectively to the conservation and recovery of natural resources and prevent them from dwindling shortly.

On the other hand, I believe that the major deterioration of environment can be solved by a number of ways. Government could imply educational schemes and this should be done in workplaces as well as schools in the form of extracurricular activities. In this way, governments can raise the public ecological consciousness. Moreover, strict legislations could be introduced to deter people from engaging in unlawful actions that damage the environment such as dumping waste into the sea or release pollutants into the atmosphere.

In conclusion, as the problems are on our doorstep, it seems to me that the rise in fuels’ prices together with other measures should be taken to mitigate ecological issues..