Celebrity status no longer equates with talent/accomplishments. Discuss.

In the last 50 years of the Indian and American Film Industry we have seen several celebrities come and go. Some made a mark and some could not even reach the finishing line. It is somewhat true that achievements of a celebrity does not match up to his/her status. But, at the same time one cannot completely undermine the list of accolades received by the actors/actresses who deserved it thoroughly.

It is not entirely untrue that in this “plastic” world looks carry a greater value than talent. A socialite who dresses up lavishly can carry himself/herself in almost any get together or meetup very confidently and moreover get notices too. By this sheer demonstration of beauty without talents can make such person go a long way. Kim Kardashian and Paris Hilton epitomizes such individuals. They nothing to show to the world except sex tapes and yet they have shot to fame and achieved millionaire status in no time.

On the other hand there are some people in the industry who are famous and well respected just because they carry rare talents. They may be bad at something but it is the sheer hard work that they have put in their respective fields and as a result they reach the zenith of their career in no time. The best example for such a person would be Hrithik Roshan who is world famous for his flexible and amazing dance moves. He is featured as a judge in many reality TV shows which have a dance theme.

However, on the flipside, there are many actors that have given everything in their acting career but have not been reciprocated with any accomplishment. The public vote is in their favor most of the time, but still, they do not have a rack of awards and trophies to brag about. One such actor that passes our mind is Mr. Leonardo De’ Caprio. He has given some of the best performances in his career. He has also worked with best directors and producers in Hollywood. Films like Inception, Wolf of Wall Street etc. are some of the great box office hits he has acted in. But he has failed to win even a single award for his outstanding performances.

So, in conclusion, to say that an actor/actress can be matched with talent and accomplishment is like a coin that has two side.