For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree? (IELTS Academ

These days computers have influenced in many parts of our lives including education. There are suggestions that computer skills are important the same as reading, writing and math, so it should be taught in a school. Personally, I completely agree with this view due to a role of computer in business today and in the future.

The computer skills are beneficial for everyone in the modern world. The main reason is that the majority of business in the world has reduced paper use in the company. This means that an information or data has been stored in the computer in files or images form, so the most career today has to face with the computer. However, the schools are only focus on basic skills without paying attention to one of the important skills of the world these days resulting in students confusing with programs which are used in the company and have to spend a lot of time to learn them. Therefore, the schools should consider to add computer skills as one subjects.

Another contributing factor is the fast developing of technology including computer. The new technologies are created all the time such as robot, AI and Machine Learning. These can be used in a lot of businesses and factories which may replace human in some career in the future, thus developing skills, like computer skills, become the important thing for people to compete with not only other people, but also technology.

To sum up, there are many benefits for using computer. Yet, lots of people still not understand and have no knowledge about computer skills which is necessary skills for today and in the future. Thus, the schools should encourage and teach them as a lesson.