Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries What are the causes of this What solutions can be offered

For the past few decades, the rising of the fast food industry as well as the fast pace of the modern life have undeniably lead to an upsurge in the number of obese children. This is an unsolved problem which can exert a negative impact on the sustainable development of a country. My following essay will clarify the reasons and suggest some proactive solutions to address this issue.

To commence with, there are both objective and subjective causes resulting in this situation. Initially, there is no denying that parents are not well prepared enough in taking care of their children. Many people are ignorant of the negative consequences of fast foods or don’t mind researching carefully before buying or even still purchase when acknowledging their bad effects, which induces them to consume these types of food unrelentlessly. In addition to that, parents are sometimes too indulgent towards their kids, allowing them to eat whatever they want. Furthermore, in terms of subjective causes, the mass media and marketing campaign of fast food companies have succeeded in enticing them into buying their products repeatedly without health warnings. Secondly the fast pace of modern life has undoubtedly reduced parents into the state of not having enough time for a nutritional meal with their kids.

Childhood obesity is highly likely to result in many serious health problems, therefore, it is critical to take drastic measures in order to solve this as soon as possible. First and foremost, the most efficacious method is to concentrate on education. Children must be comprehensively educated on how to protect and maintain their wellbeing by means of not only school curriculum but mass media, etc. Once they are instilled in the importance of a healthy life and negative effects of fast food, it is likely that they will actively consume healthy food and beverages. Moreover, the government also needs to implement more strict regulations applied to the fast food industry. A limit on harmful ingredients contained in sweets, crisps, etc plays a key role in addressing a national health problem. Besides, putting a control on the number as well as content of fast food advertising on TV, social media, … will lead to a significant decrease in coverage of fast food around the country.

To conclude, childhood obesity has been a must-solved problem which is caused by both objective and subjective reasons, and needs to be tackled drastically by not only the government but also the whole society.