Compare the influence of family and friends on teenagers.

Adolescence is considered to be the most sensitive time in a person’s life with a variety of changes and challenges. Youngsters tend to prove that they have really become mature and decided what to do by themselves. On the other hand, both parents and peers predominantly affect adolescents’ thought and action. Besides, how juveniles are influenced by family and friends is obviously expressed in terms of behavior and studying progression.

That the initial aspect is believed to have a tremendous impact on teenagers by the family as well as friends is their behavior which leads to shape their characters. It is undeniable that youngsters take both their parents and friends as their role models about the behavior. To be more precise, not only are the family members- in particular the parents the closest people but they are also their children’s first teachers. Therefore, children are very prone to imitate the actions of those around them, especially adults. Otherwise, friends primarily affect their behavior during teens’ developmental stage. To put another way, that juveniles spend a large amount of their time with friends at school rather than at home is the significant reason why friends’ behavior is considered as a role model for teenagers to follow. In particular, the credibility, authority, power, and influence of peers is greater during adolescence than at any other time in life.

Despite bearing some superficial sameness, the discrepancy between the family and friends having remarkable effects on teenagers are pronounced. It is noticeable that the structure of the family affects the behavior of youngsters. On the contrary, parental warmth and support, and consistent and moderate discipline can inhibit teens’ behavior. Accordingly, should children grow up in a happy environment, they will behave in a friendly way. Despite the powerful role of family, the influence of peer relationship is also a significant factor contributing to youths’ communication. According to the beginning of the article “ Friendships, Peer Influence and Peer Pressure During the ten years”, it is estimated that the more independent children become, the more distant with parents they will be. Due to the age gap, children prefer sharing with friends to talking to parents. Hence, they follow friends’ behavior. However, in developing process, children‘s ability to have bad effects from peers is ineluctable. They are involved in violence, alcohol use and aggressive behavior which originate in ridicules from friends.

Another effect lies in studying process which specifies profound influences of parents and friends on teenagers. The similarities between the effects of parents and friends on teens are pronounced, and they deserve thorough investigation. Putting adolescents under high pressure is an assimilation. More specifically, a considerable number of parents would like juveniles to become perfect citizens by studying as much as possible, which puts adolescents under pressure. Consequently, sometimes it brings more drawbacks than benefits. Evidently, individuals’ ability to acquire the same amount of knowledge is not comparable. Should the young find it difficult to understand a lesson or just a notion while classmates can do it easily, teenagers will feel inferior and bored with studying. From then on, teenagers will always be in tension, which can cause serious effects on teens’ physical and psychological aspects.

While numerous similarities between the influences of the family and peers are evident, the differences are striking. Undeniably, parents, especially the mother, are believed to be people who know which aspects or skills youngsters are interested in and expect to discover. Thus, no one but fathers and mothers is able to exactly orient juveniles’ next learning process. Moreover, regarding to psychological features, encouraging youngsters and providing the best studying conditions help adolescents have motivation to achieve desired results more. As an illustration, instead of criticizing youths, family members can give useful advice and encouragement to inspire the young. Undoubtedly, in studying, classmates create competitive environments which foster adolescents’ effort to keep pace with. In adolescence, seldom do teenagers accept that they are more deficient than others. They always expect to be winners. Besides competition, friends assist one another to study better, which parents hardly do well.

In conclusion, family and companions have profound and long-lasting effects on behaviors as well as teenagers’ studying. The ways, on the other hand, which these two factors have been influencing on the young are immensely varied. Parents frequently impact on youths’ behavior more strongly than friends. Whereas, adolescents really need peers in their studying. Greatly as parents and friends affect the young, no one but teenagers is able to decide their own lives.