Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is a fact that computers and technology are inevitable nowadays. For this reason, in order to be up-to-date, computers should be integrated in every-day classes. However, it is argued that computer-based learning could draw to some problems. In my opinion technology brings up huge advantages to the education system, although paper-based learning should not be entirely replaced.

Online teaching can be more engaging and interactive: platforms like Kahoot make lectures more fun and interesting, keeping students active. Through online quizzes and surveys, the teacher can have an immediate panoramic view of the level of understanding of the class and receive a more honest feedback. Furthermore, students seem to be more interested in lessons which involve videos showing examples.

Moreover, since the environment is one of the main concerns, taking notes on a laptop can save up tons of paper.

One the other hand, it has been shown that such a long exposure to blue-light screens can deteriorate the sight. In addition, some research points out that paper-based learning is more effective, especially when students have to read and memorize a considerate number of pages.

I myself experienced one of the disadvantages of typing instead of handwriting; in any text editor a spelling checker is abled, which is a very useful service for preventing mistakes. However, I noticed I struggle at correctly spell all the words without any text replacement function.

In conclusion, digital whiteboards, projector and laptops are a resourceful commodity with a lot of potential. Yet, in order to not be disruptive, it has to go along with a more traditional way of teaching.