Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary society, computers have become an essential tool. Owing to this, some people believe they should be provided in the classrooms and their softwares be used for the purpose of teaching, while others opine that it might pose as a threat to a cetain extent for the learners. I support the latter and will put forth the reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, there are some advantages of using computer programs for teaching. The teaching process would become much easier for the educators as they can include videos and colorful diagrams which would make learning more interesting and memorable. Furthermore, taking tests will become more convenient and the results would be available to the students instantly, due to the answers being saved previously while creating the question set. Hence, there would be less errors and lesser time spent in correcting of hundreds of answer sheets.

However, there are some disadvantages to this method of teaching for the students. As students will be staring at the screen for longer durations, those sensitive to the screen light may develop migraines thereby unable to continue their classes and ultimately miss the lessons. Moreover, with the advancement in technology and availability of wide range of programs, students may use unethical means to pass their tests by overriding the exams security measures which may go unnoticed by the mentors. Hence, it would be difficult to know the actual level of learners and be unfair to those who have worked hard.

To sum up, I would like to reiterate though using technology would be an interesting and fun way of teaching, the students may be affected in negative ways that would be detrimental to their learning process.