Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is claimed that there are gradually more similarities among different countries in the world. People are able to find the same products in many places, which I believe is a positive advance.

To begin with, the world has become a global village, which helps to increase the level of convenience in people's lives. Particularly, they could buy anything they want that are from distinct brands all over the world in where they live. For example, there are a large number of convenient stores in Hanoi such as Circle K or Vinmart+, where the residents can purchase food from Korea or Japan easily without going to a supermarket. On the other hand, before these stores were constructed, people had to find a shopping centre or a portable shop that was far from their home to buy imported products. It is clear that the development mentioned in the introduction could help people save time while shopping.

However, some people still claim that this advance can have a negative outcome which is cultural assimilation. They may believe that the increase in similarities among countries could lead to the gradual loss of culture. But I argue that this development would be a great chance for many countries to popularise their own customs to the world as a way of expressing national pride. For instance, nowadays, many countries have restaurants that serve a really famous dish of Vietnam, Pho. By this way, people around the world can try this food and learn about Vietnam, also a part of its food culture. Clearly, the advance in globalisation is not as bad as many people think.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that globalisation has revolutionised the whole world. Although some people still doubt this development, I am of the opinion that this trend is beneficial for all consumers, sellers as well as countries.