As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars.

Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh the disadvantages for the society?

In this day and age, a large number of automobiles are increasingly manufactured and used since the general development of most nations reached a high level. While it is said by some that this trend could exert consequences, I totally believe the benefits would dominate the drawbacks.

People fear certain minus points from the enormous use of cars. For starters, air pollution is something inevitable. The more cars travelled in the streets, the more amount of harmful gases released into the atmosphere, which impacts the respiratory system of humans. Lung cancer and asthma are common diseases citizens have in municipal areas. Another form of pollution is noise pollution. It is undoubtedly recognized that if a location is heavily traversed by cars, its residents usually get irritated and have irregular patterns of sleep more than the place which is not. So, people claiming the automobiles are contributing factors causing bad results might have the point.

Having said that, I hold a strong belief that the upsides would outweigh the downsides. First and foremost, it is far more convenient when people use cars. No matter how much toxic fumes are emitted into the air, we cannot deny comfortable feelings if transported by cars, especially under bad weather conditions. Besides, pets could be accommodated with their owners, which is not allowed when they take modes of public transportation. Secondly, a good image of a society could be created when a lots of cars travel on roads. It means that the quantity of cars reflects the wealth of civilians. In contrast, a community full of motorbikes are not often appreciated by the observers as it is still a developing one. Lastly, automobile development would constitute a huge proportion in the total economy. The fact that cars are sold on a regular basis indicates the thriving percentage in this industry, making the overall economic status higher, so it definitely is a good sign for society.

In summary, people have a preference for purchasing and using their personal cars, and I think this trend would yield more good results than the bad ones.