The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

What do you think of this trend?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In recent times, criteria for passing an academic year for students has changed significantly. Many education institutes are giving preference to continuous assessment as a mode of assessing children's performance instead of traditional examinations. In my view, this change is necessary for children as it emphasizes on overall learning and provide multiple platform to them in a year.

To start with, the advantage of regular assessment is that it induces pupils to focus on better learning with smaller content. This is due to the reason that in this method the syllabus is devided into four or five parts, and then the students are being grade periodically, as per their performances. As a result, children have better opportunities to comprehend the subjects. Alternatively, in traditional exams students had to learn an ample amount of syllabus, and after that they were graded on a set of questionaire.

In addition to this, in continous assessment, there are many chance in an academic year for students to score good grades. For instance, if in first assessment a student was not able to do well, he will have an opportunity to score diligently good in next assessment to cover-up his poor performance. Contrastingly, in other form of examinations, if a student failed in some subjects, he would have to compromise an entire year because of it. Therefore, with periodic assessment, students will feel more confident when they prepare for their examination.

In conclusion, continual assessment, undoubtedly, will provide great benefits to students such as learning subjects in smaller propotions and opportunities to score good grades in an overall academic year.