Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport why is it not popular in many places? How to increase its popularity

Although riding a bicycle is a better way to protect the environment than using other types of vehicles, it is less likely to attract the most people. A range of reasons are identified and some solutions could be proposed to address this issue and promote the usage of bicycles.

On the one hand, there are many strong reasons why using the bicycle is limited to people in many big cities. Firstly, modern life is becoming much busier than in the past, individuals nowadays have difficulty to manage their time with the use of the bicycle. As a result, people prefer to travel other types of vehicles such as car, subway, and bus in order to save time and physically demanding. Secondly, people who commute by cycling have more tendency to face with health problems such as lung cancer or respiratory disease. This results in the urban areas where often produce the amount of gas emission released into the air. Finally, unpredictable danger could be happened when cyclists have to share lanes with other means of transport. For example, commuters by bike are likely to avoid weigh vehicles as the container, so they have no space to free moving in the street.

On the other hand, governments play a vital role in adopting the strict policy. First solution is that it is important to increase people's awareness of saving our living environment. For instance, government authorities should introduce campaigns to propagate the harmful effects of fuel vehicles on the public health and encourage citizens to attempt to cycle as much as possible. Another measurement is to upgrade and expand transport infrastructure, especially road systems and create dedicated cycle lanes to prevent unexpected accidents. Furthermore, the restriction of a large number of private car by making it more costly. This can be done by increasing petrol price or raising taxes on these vehicles before going to central zones.

In conclusion, there are several reasons why bicycles are becoming less common in today's world, I believe that solutions would be produced to promote this environmentally friendly means of transport.