The dangers of smoking are well known yet many people continue with this habit What are the causes of this How can we reduce smoking in society Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Nowadays, more and more people smoke although they somehow acknowledge the adverse effects smoking has on their health, especially their lung functions. The 2 most possible reasons explaining this problem are personal preferences and the addictive quality of tobacco. As a result, there are 2 main possible solutions for society to gradually attenuate smoking: propaganda and implementing regulations.

There are 2 reasonable explanations for many people to continue smoking despite knowing about the severe consequences. Firstly, these people do not have enough courage and determination to get rid of using cigarettes. According to some research carried out by the United Nations, 1 out of 20 tobacco addicts can refrain from consuming them, the other 19 people might spend their whole life on using and suffering from the threats posed by smoking. Those addictions may have to use drugs for being conscious to work or study, some of them might smoke to release stress from workloads or financial burdens. Even though there must be some healthy solutions for their problems such as doing exercises or having vacations, they keep the dangerous smoking habit and end up succumbing to the severe effects. Secondly, the addictive characteristics of tobacco also influence people in becoming obsessed, which are proven in many scientific studies.

One viable solution for this problem is for social organizations to convey messages about the hazardous threat posed by sequential smoking as well as some practical methods to shake off this habit. At schools and workplaces, educators and managers should organize some presentations or extra-curriculum activities for students and employees to learn, understand about smoking, therefore edifice about the solutions. Another feasible way is for the government to apply strict policies on smoking. Take Vietnam for example, in the last 5 years, after strongly tariffing on tobacco, the number of smokers has considerably plunged. Additionally, the governments can also enforce harsh fines on public smokers.

In conclusion, the 2 main reasons for a large group of people to keep smoking habit are personal determination as well as the addictiveness of cigarettes. To reduce social smoking, the first solution is about education, the second one is to rigorously penalize.