The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit.

What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Smoking has been an issue in the socity for a long time and despite the risks involved people continue with this habit. This essay will discuss the causes for this as well as suggest ways to control the same in society.

To begin with, one of the primary reason is inheritence. It has been found in a research that children inherit their habit of smoking from their elders, whom they have observed since childhood. They tend to mimic this activity as they find the process quite intriguing. This can be mitigated if the elders of the family are aware and ensure that they do not smoke in front of the children.

Furthermore, people tend to smoke due to increased stress at work. They justify smoking as a way to reduce this stress and find a solution while watching the smoke dissipates into air. A probable solution could be that offices introduce activities that would help their employees feel relaxed. Apart from relaxing, people will feel energised and be easily able to cope with all the situations.

Besides, many people develop this habit since teenage times and find it challenging to quit smoking as they face severe withdrawal symptoms due to prolonged dependence. There are several organisations and institutions who work jointly with medical team that helps such smokers gradually overcome this addition by meditation, hosting sessions and providing medications, when necessary.

To sum up, there are several reasons for a person to initiate smoking but it is high time to take measures to control the rate of smoking for a better society and healthier lives.