Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents, and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

It is true that road accidents are increasing dramatically even after the developments in the automobile sector. While there are various reasons for this alarming trend, I believe that governments can take steps to lessen this potential problem.

There are several reasons of rising road accidents in all over the world. One of the main reasons of vehicle crashes is that the new  drivers are inexperienced, uneducated, lacking driving skills and capabilities. For instance, Williams reported that in 1995 in the USA, 16 years old drivers were involved in 35 crashes per million miles of travel, compared to drivers in the 20s and 40s who were connected to nine and four crashes, respectively, per million miles. Additionally, while most car accidents seem to be caused by usual factors such as alcohol and drugs, speeding, fatigue, and an inattentiveness, a fair number of accidents are caused by poor road design. A good example of this situation is Boston, where car accidents occur occasionally due to the poorly placed sign or inadequately maintained roadway, among other roadway flaws. Furthermore, the growing number of cars on the road is an another cause of frequent road accidents in the developing countries. It's happening because people tend to drive their own cars rather than using public transportation such as buses, trains and trams.

There  are plausible approaches that governments could take to mitigate the problems described above. Firstly, it is vitally important to educate people properly before they start to drive, and this could be done in schools or even as part of difficult driving test. Secondly, more attention could be paid to safe road design. For example, signs can be used to warn people, speed bumps and road bends can be added to calm traffic, and speed cameras can help to deter people from driving quickly. Finally, governments and local councils could curb road accidents by investing in better public transport, which would mean that fewer people need to travel by car.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are many reasons for road accidents, and a range of measures need to be taken to solve these problems.