Detailed descriptions of crimes are often given in the newspaper or on TV. Some people think it has bad consequences on the society and so should be restricted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a controversial opinion that elaborating social unrests in media such as television or newspaper should be confined because of its detrimental effects on the community. While I somewhat approve that it may have certain positive consequences, I would argue that its social influences could be harmful at an alarming rate.

Describing violations diligently is likely to bring about some merits on the society. To commence with, it is undeniable that this type of illustration can facilitate other citizens to acknowledge sufficiently the way the criminals get involved in wrongdoings, especially sophisticated cases, hence render them to avoid incurring in any repetitions taken by offenders. For instance, an intimated illustration of how the robbers break into the residential houses by only a needle instead of key can be a wake-up call for people to change their physical door’s lock to a biometric one. The second upside which should be highlighted is that in particular circumstances in which the malefactors have not yet been arrested, giving details of the crimes that they have committed through social media can ease the investigation procedure. Indeed, the perpetrators might accidentally abandon their personal tangible evidence that help the TV watchers or newspaper readers easily realize the owner’s identity, thus, give a helping hand for the detection process.

Despite incontrovertible positive effects, detailed descriptions of misdeeds can ironically occur adverse consequences that exert unpleasant influences on society. Firstly, it can become a reliable source for other potential evildoers to mimic or more severe, kick-offs normal citizens to think that engage in crimes are so easy and, therefore, decide to embark on it to benefit themself. In fact, several hidden criminals may silently seek out for a novel way to proceed with their offenses and undoubtedly an elaborated illustration of violation showing on TV can be a short-cut method. Additionally, some people used to think that undertaking in a felony is extremely intricate, however, by looking onto details of crime, they might recognize that being a theft or a kidnapper to raise money is utterly simple, resulted in their real action of committing in a wrongdoing. Secondly, one of the demerits should not be underestimated is that the intimated depiction of sins, including horror images, can create negative effects on children and the elderly, who often easily be impacted. In the other words, children can be obsessed by those pictures, as such prone to cause some mental problems and on the other hand, the old people who particularly have vascular disease might have a shock that able to devastate their health conditions.

In conclusion, although there are some inevitably compelling reasons as the detailed descriptions of wrongdoings in media impacts positively on the community, I believe that it pivotal to strictly limit its promotions on TV or newspaper because of its mentioned-above disadvantages.