In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In the modern world, people are experiencing high longevity and this trend is continuing to proliferate. Besides anticipated advantages, adverse situations are unprecedented which can lead to undesirable consequences. Although problems associated with this trend are unusual, several solutions are being implemented to mitigate those devastation results.

There are various concerns attributed to the impact of increasing average life expectancy. First and foremost, in terms of individuals, sequences of spiritual and physical illnesses alongside weak family bonds are often reported since nuclear families are emerging among the young society. Consequently, older people have to stay isolatedly and take responsibilities of daily heavy household chores. Following this, uncontrolled diets can result in long-term diseases, for instance, diabetes and obesity. Moreover, when regarding society comprehensively, burdens on governmental finance and infrastructure of nursing homes are inevitable. This is primarily because of pensions and social welfare for senior employees after retirement and poor facilities of nursing homes leading to low sanitation.

Although problematic situations are devastating, measures are coming into practice to gradually conciliate those conflicting aspects. Encouraging and reemerging extended families consisting of three generations living under the same roof is one of the most efficient policies. As a result, families' close-knits are consolidated. In other words, stable living conditions with high cleansy and healthy lifestyles are guaranteed. In addition to this, making lives of the aged populations phenomenal and motivating is taken into consideration. To achieve this, national authorities have allowed companies to extend retirement age and provide light working positions for senior workers. Examples can be seen clearly in terms of Japan where people are expected to work longer than usual. Consequently, an interesting life with adequate salary and assured outcomes of companies can diminish financial burden on society.

To put things in a nutshell, although undesirable situations have never been encountered before, policies are being published to mitigate the problems, namely encouraging extended families and longer career time. I recommend that those measures should be taken seriously in order to protect the rights of the elderly. If this suggestion is practiced, positive results will be comprehensive.