In developing countries children in rural communities have less access to education Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and i

Nowadays, the limited access to education of rural children has still drawn much public attention in developing nations. While some people hold the belief that it can be addressed by computers and internet provision, I support the idea that the fundamental measure is to build more schools and provide more teachers there.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that providing computers and internet connection plays an essential role in students’ studying, especially in countryside communities. Firstly, rural students still gain knowledge without travelling to schools or directly teaching. For example, if they have computers equipped with the internet, they are able to attend virtual classes in any aspects despite the far distance. Secondly, it enables pupils to access a great source of information. Apart from knowledge in books or lessons, they have possibilities to broaden their horizons and stimulate their creativities. As a result, computers and the internet will increase literacy rates as well as lead to better job opportunities for them in the future.

On the other hand, in order to tackle this issue, teachers and schools are much more indispensable. The first reason is that students always need the presence of teachers. In fact, pupils in countryside zones find it difficult to learn by themselves, so going to schools and participating in classes with teachers’ help will make them reach lessons more effectively compared to joining to online courses. The second reason is that schools exert a positive effect on children’s comprehensive development. Obviously, not only do the school functions as a place for giving and receiving knowledge but it also helps children understand the importance of social skills - teamwork and cooperation - through communicating with constructors and their peers in extracurricular activities.

In conclusion, in spite of some benefits of computers and the internet in boosting the rural children’s educational access in developing countries, it seems to me that an increase in schools and teachers is the top priority.