The development of technology has caused environmental problems. So, some people think people should choose a simpler way of life, while others think we should use technology to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Technology makes our life easier. However, with the advancement of technology, our world is suffering exceedingly from the pressure on resources. Thus, there is a popular opinion that people should live simpler so as to reduce technological impact on the environment. Although technology has influenced the natural world a lot, I believe it can also be used to preserve it.

On the one hand, if people lived simpler, restricting themselves on gadgets, would reduce the usage of materials. Nowadays, the demand for new gadgets devastates the Earth’s resources, so it is crucial to use them rationally. Consequently, it would make the reserves last longer. Moreover, it would also reduce public expenditures on new gadgets. However, it would also create a significant inconvenience for people. Take, for example, employees who are not able to accomplish tasks in accordance with their requirements without using the latest equipment. As a result, multiple spheres of life might deteriorate due to lack of supply.

On the other hand, it is certain that technological advancement has caused people to lose some practical skills.This is due to the ability of modern technology to replace people in some tasks. For instance, many people cannot wash clothes by hand since they have been exploiting washing machines for all their lives. Nevertheless, it is much more convenient to use technologies. Moreover, achievements in technological development can also be used to resolve resource issues. For example, modern technology is able to recycle many wastes such as plastic. Therefore, it would solve many environmental problems.

In conclusion, although simpler life would reduce pressure on resources, I strongly believe that it is advantageous to apply technology in our lives. If it was used rationally, it could be possible to solve many problems that humanity faces today.