Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that the question of whether to reduce the technology usage or to advance it remain a source of controversy in controlling environmental issues. Although the technological advances have had some negative impacts on the environment, I would argue that the solutions lie in technologies that have been and are being developed.

On the one hand, a number of people debate that living a simpler life should be adopted for several reasons, the two most obvious of which are related to the individual carbon footprint and harmful chemicals. With regard to the former, enjoying life without using technology could limit the toxic emissions. For instance, most sophisticated devices, such as air-conditioning, water heater and the private car, generate a large amount of greenhouse gas emissions, which could cause many detrimental effects and the environmental degradation is a case in point. Another reason is that chemical fertilizers and weedkillers manufactured by applying chemical technology are widely consumed in agricultural industry. As a result, the environment could suffer from soil and water pollution because of overusing these artificial substances in cultivating crops.

On the other hand, I believe that technological achievements play a vital role in environmental protection. This is due to the fact that thanks to the enhancements in technology, the renewable energy sources, of which wind, solar and hydroelectric are a typical example, are becoming more and more common in numerous developed countries. Furthermore, these clean energies have been utilised in manufacturing more eco-friendly vehicles, which may lead to a considerable reduction in depending on fossil fuels. As far as the advantage of technological applications is concerned, the environmental sanitation systems, such as industrial waste treatment, are enabling plastics and other waste products in industries to be recycled.

In conclusion, although living simpler lives can certainly benefit human to some extents, it seems to me that advances in technology are providing many solutions in tackling environmental problems.