Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the question of whether science and technology or a simpler lifestyle can preserve the environment remains a source of controversy in the community. While many people argue that an uncomplicated lifestyle will conserve environmental problems, I believe that the progress of science and technology will tackle the problems concerned with the environment

On the one hand, humans think that a simpler lifestyle will address environmental concerns for two main reasons. Firstly, people living in a simpler way means that the demands for living are less. Their requirement for food decreases, as a result the amount of waste thrown away the environment is less which contributes to reducing water and air pollution. Moreover, this will limit the amount of gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles which lead to global warming. Therefore, the issues concerned with the environment will be minimized.

On the other hand, I believe that the improvement of science and technology will help protect the environment. One reason is that there are more and more the advents and inventions in science and technology which help address environmental problems. The more progressive the sociality is, the higher the demands of people are. As we can see that the amount of rubbish humans throw away such as plastic bags, cans and bottles is bigger and the demands for travel increase significantly. With the new technology, humans can invent new ways to produce paper bags and products that can be recycled to protect the environment instead of plastic ones. Furthermore, for instance, with the improvement in technology and science, humans can manufacture E5 gasoline which reduces CO2 emission emitted to air and saves fossil fuel. Besides, many nations in the world have built solar power plants that use renewable energy to curb the use of non-renewable sources.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that science and technology can solve environmental issues.