With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be.

In recent years, the sharp increase of divorce rates and family breakdowns has become a pressing issue. People have been attaching greater weight to this problem, because it may give rise to a host of problems such as social alienation. This essay will explore this complicated phenomenon from diverse perspectives, identify the relevant contributing factors and bring up some effective solution.

For a start, there is an array of integrated factors leading to this complicated situation. The first contributing factor is the influences of celebrities and TV programs. Some romantic dramas focused on how the couples fall in love but ignored the seriousness of marry which gave a message to people that marry is an unimportant thing. Another major factor is the advance of technology. Nowadays, family members used to chat to each other by sending text and just put all the attention on the smartphone rather than talk with each other face to face. It worsens the family relationship and lead to a number of family breakdowns.

Confronted with such a thorny issue, people come up with a variety of constructive countermeasures. First of all, it is of paramount importance for government to promote the public awareness of the seriousness of marry through education. If children are educated that they have responsibilities to a family in the future, the cases of the above issue will decrease significantly. Moreover, parents also play an essential role for the children. As children always follow their parents’ behaviors and path, it is of vital importance that parents to act properly to maintain the family relationship.

When everyone is fully aware of the severity, and takes feasible measures, the society will become more harmony. It is high time that both the government and ordinary citizens should make concerted efforts to mitigate this challenging issue.