Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Various chemicals incorporated to most food products today are mainly to keep it from rotting too early. Although there are advantages in this kind of food preservation, i cannot see clearly its benefits.

Others agree that these preservatives mixed during food production are advantageous. They affirm that it protects the freshness of a product until it reaches to people in far-flung areas. It also prevents food to be wasted from decomposing early, as they conclude. Another factor they see it beneficial is appearance. For instance, they conclude that these chemicals improve the color of meat products making it more presentable longer than non-preserved products.

Despite the given benefits, I am still convinced it has more drawbacks. One thing I disagree is that the companies using them only focuses on the its generated profits rather than the benefit of the people. This idea is cemented by many studies today affirming preservatives affect the body in the long run like diabetes. Other than that, taste can be changed also. Even though they can last longer, it wont taste the same compared to its natural counterpart, making its palatability not acceptable to others.

On the whole, even if there is a positive response about these preservatives mixed into food products, it will not deface my belief that it has more drawbacks.