Do you agree that the advantages cars bring outweigh the disadvantages
Using cars has been becoming increasingly common in recent years. Although I
think that it maintains some obvious harmful consequences, I strongly believe that
the advantages of the car can outweigh its advantages.
On the one hand, owning cars has a significant influence on the environment. The
first reason is that the growth in travelling by car can lead to a rise in pollution,
traffic jams, and accidents. More cars are likely to result in rocketing rate of
pollution. Secondly, our dependence on cars can lead to decrease in practices,
such as walking and cycling. People may have a higher chance of carrying more
potential health risks like obesity and heart attack.
On the other hand, there are many reasons why people prefer to own cars. Firstly,
it provides people with the freedom of movement. The ease of transportation
which a car brings is significant/prominent than any other form of vehicles. For
example, you can go from a destination to another destination and no time is
wasted waiting for the bus or train. Therefore, time and distance are not barriers
anymore. Secondly, personal cars can give comfort while travelling compared to
the public transports which are so crowded and disgusting. For instance, you can
read books, listen to your favourite songs or even play with kids while you are in
your own car but all seems to be impossible on a public transport. Finally,
families can go together. This becomes especially helpful when there are elderly,
the disabled or even sick members in the families.
In conclusion, having a car can lead to a few obvious problems, but I believe that
owning a car is the best choice and the benefits that it brings about can outshine its
drawbacks.