Do you agree that the advantages cars bring outweigh the disadvantages
In the 21st century, revolutionary inventions such as cars have brought about
tremendous changes to people’s modern lives. While I understand that
automobiles offer several advantages for people who possess them, their
drawbacks often outweigh the benefits.
On the one hand, cars offer people great flexibility and ready access to a variety
of services and leisure options. The invention of cars has helped (to) increase our
convenience by reducing time spent on transport. Thanks to the development of the
automotive industry, people nowadays are able to travel a long distance with an
extremely shorter amount of time than previously. In addition, the prevalence of
cars also boosts the evolution of other industries such as manufacturing industries,
logistics, and distribution, resulting in the occurrence of the industrial age.
On the other hand, it is undeniable that cars create a number of detrimental effects
in the modern world. Vehicles are the main sources of greenhouse gas emission,
resulting in aggregate air pollution in urban areas. Exhaust fumes from cars
contribute to acid rain and ozone depletion, which cause global warming and
damage human health. Another problem is that the continuing/ growing presence of
cars increases the dependence of people on this technological advance, leading to
the exacerbation of sedentary lifestyle which poses a potential threat to human’s
physical and mental development.
In conclusion, while there are a number of benefits to utilize cars in our daily life,
I believe that this often creates more negative consequences on both people’s lives
and the environment.