Do you agree that modern technology has given us more leisure time than before.

Modern technology has been capturing significant public attention in recent decades due to its implications on social living standards. Given the suggestion that those technological advancements have increased the amount of users’ leisure time, I totally agree.

From communication perspective, before the appearance of mobile phones and computers, delivering a message or phone calls from one place to another would require considerable physical travels, costing unnecessary time, money and effort. By using those devices, individuals could communicate to others regardless of their locations wirelessly, thereby saving a great amount of leisure time.

From manual work perspective, the application of state-of-the-art technologies especially computer or artificial intelligence-based devices is proved to reduce or even release users from the burden of manual work, saving remarkable spare time. For example, many families have a penchant for installing smart home technologies functioning by human voice recognition process, supervising and control every house appliance without any humans’ physical interaction and attention, which would enable users to gain a great deal of free time.

From consumer consumption perspective, due to technological developments leading to the higher internet usage rate, the explosion of online shopping ensue. This means that consumers could rejoice various shopping options from different websites with relative price comparison of a product without physical travels since the ordered products would be immediately shipped to users’ desired locations through logistics services, which consequently could increase much leisure time.

In conclusion, I firmly agree that the amount of leisure time of humans has risen due to modern technology. Therefore, governments should inject more monetary investments into technological research projects to incentivise the advancements to guarantee the betterment of social living standards.